Posted by: Miss Jones | March 2, 2009

I’m baaaaaaaaaaack!

I’m not even going to make up or tell you a bunch of excuses as to why it has been FOREVER since I’ve posted anything, but I am going to try to be better, I promise. 

I guess I didn’t even know very many people were reading this until I start to hear complaints through the grapevine as soon as I quit posting. 

So, I’m going to do a better job posting, but I need you all to do a better job commenting so that I’ll know:

1) who is reading my blog

2) which posts/types of posts are favorites

3) that people are actually reading the blog so I’ll be motivated to post and not think that I’m posting for nothing but rather that many people are reading and enjoying

 

If you’re a fan of The Single Mormon Girl’s Guide to Life then here’s a little blog button (made by our own Lula from London) for you to add to your blog and link it to the site.

spinster-button

 

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with WordPress but it is pretty cool in that it gives me a lot of blog stats.  For example, I know that on February 2nd, 128 people viewed the blog (even though NOBODY commented that day).  It also tells me what websites people are linking through.  And my favorite…it tells me what search words people are typing in that are leading them to this blog. 

Just yesterday someone typed in “left handed Mormon women.”  Now I don’t know if there are many differences between left-handed Mormon women and right-handed Mormon women (other than I hear that left-handers are more intelligent) but if I do ever come across any pertinent information about left-handed Mormons I’ll be sure to post it. 

Recently I also had someone search, “how to get a Mormon girl to make out with you.”  Haaaaaaaaaaa! I love it. 

Anyway, I’m going to try and get caught up in answering some of your questions in the next few months as well as filling in with any little random posts that come to mind. 

I’m glad to be back. 

Later Spinsters (and those who love or want to love us)!

Responses

  1. Well, I love, love, LOVE this blog. It’s very entertaining to read and, although I haven’t reached spinster age by a LONG shot, it’s nice to know that there is hope, and there is help. I like the types of posts that mainly talked about why guys hang out. It’s entertaining and delightsome.

  2. I want more posts =)

  3. Since you’re requesting comments, I’ll throw one your way. I usually quietly enjoy reading this blog because I identify with so many things about LDS singledom: all the snide remarks, the awkward dates, the RM sister missionary syndrome, the older generation being terribly afraid of my eternal salvation, the whole kit ‘n’ caboodle. I married in my late 20s but I can’t help but be entertained by stories that sound so similar to mine!
    By the way, I loved the Candy Drawer. So clever!

  4. I love this blog! As soon as a new post comes out I read it. It’s a bit of an addiction, but I could have worse ones I suppose.

  5. This blog is a GODSEND. It’s nice to know there are other, amazing women out there who aren’t married yet! Thanks!

  6. Thank you so much for posting Miss Jones! I was one of the ones who complained through the grapevine. It’s funny how small our Mormon bubble can be. Your style of writing is a breath of fresh air, and I am excited to read your future posts.

  7. I love this blog! I also really loved the candy drawer post. I was going to write a post on my own blog about it after I read it, because I identify with that concept so much. But then, as I was starting to get ready to make that post, I started dating a guy. And he always says to me “You’re my favorite”! It’s a dream come true!

  8. Hooray! I am so glad for two new posts! I might not comment much, but I love reading and knowing there are others out there going through the same thing!

  9. Love this site! I’m 29 and was just asked last week if I’m being too picky….arghhhhh!

  10. I love this blog! It makes me feel less loserish about my life. Even though I still have a bit to go before I am technically a spinster I still feel that pressure to get married that only your family and your home ward can bestow upon you.

  11. This is awesome. I only just found your blog last night. Most of the blogs I read these days are those of my Mormon friends who are married and starting a family. They’re darling and just chockfull of cuuuuuuuuuuute pictures of their kiddies and such, but… this past weekend, I desperately wanted something I could relate to.

    When I went looking for single Mormon bloggers, I found a whole lot of negative ones, and I’m really not looking to dissenting opinions, contemplate polygamy, or be otherwise critical of our leaders.

    I wanted something happy, positive, ‘keep the faith’ and dont’ forget to ENJOY life kind of blog, and this fits the bill perfectly. Thank you.

  12. I found this today and it’s totally helped me to change my life outlook. I’ve only been a “spinster” for 3 years but it’s soooo nice to have something that is accurate and relateable(I dunno if that’s even a word! lol). So I guess I wanna say
    (singsongy voice–>) *Thank yoooou.* 🙂

  13. Just found this blog. Will likely be checking back.

  14. I love how you ask for comments and then boom there’s loads on this one. I came across this yesturday when I was really down about the whole singles ward scene in general and now I’m hooked. I wish I could play a bigger part in it rather than just reading and commenting but I guess that must be earned. For now I will keep trying daily to get caught up on the posts. Thanks for the hard work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

